賣、沿 革

臺 北 市 沿 革

臺北市及其近郊,根據地質學家之論斷,認係一典型盆地,屬於第四系新層。太古 之世為一大湖,經萬千年之沖積,始淤淺成為陸地。

臺北盆地之開闢,伊始究在何年,邀遠不可稽考,而我國人民大批移居來臺開發, 則為明朝以後之事。

明永曆 15 年(公元 1661 年)鄭成功驅逐荷蘭人,收復臺灣,遣勇衛黃安督水陸軍戍 守於淡水,至克塽世,實行屯田之制,派兵溯淡水河入墾芝蘭三堡,至今石牌遺跡尚存。

清康熙 22 年(公元 1683 年),清師入臺,福建濱海之民來墾漸多。48 年(公元 1709年)秋,泉州人戴伯歧、陳逢春、賴永和、陳天章合股立「陳賴章」請得臺灣府諸羅縣正堂墾照,自新莊墾至艋舺(今萬華),於是漳、泉之民扶老攜幼渡海東來,建莊設市,儼然海外桃源勝地。

乾隆 2 年(公元 1737 年),墾區已及拳山(今文山)、錫口(今松山)及上下埤頭、塔塔悠、小港仔、大浪泵等地。艋舺因具舟楫之便,遂成臺北盆地貨物集散中心,從此艋舺逐漸步入繁華之境。

咸豐 3 年(公元 1853 年)以後,為艋舺最盛時期,水上巨舶連雲,陸上人煙輻輳,因有「一府、二鹿、三艋舺」之稱。後來一部分漳州人復自艋舺遷至大稻埕,從事建設,力事工商,未數年,竟取代艋舺經濟地位,成為臺北唯一通洋大埠。

光緒元年(公元 1875 年),清廷設臺北府於大加納堡(今中正區地方)。8 年,臺北城垣完成。11 年建石坊(今衡陽路)、西門(今衡陽路尾段)、新起(今博愛路)三街,從此城內、大稻埕、艋舺遂得聯成一片。

甲午戰後,日人入踞,廢臺北府為臺北縣,嗣改臺北州,劃艋舺、大稻埕、城內3 區及大加納堡全部地方1,865公頃為臺北廳,分全轄區居民為155街莊。光緒23年5 月,設置臺北市計畫委員會,籌備建市,直至民國9年10月,始正式設立州轄市,實 施都市計畫。民國21年,擴大市區範圍為6,698公頃,容納居民由原預定之15萬人增 至60萬人。

民國34年8月,臺灣光復,重建省制,明令臺北市為省轄市。同年10月接管,改 劃行政區域為10區,境界從舊。

民國 55 年 12 月,中央以臺北市已成為我國政治、軍事、文化、經濟之中心,特予明令升格為院轄市,56 年 7 月 1 日實施。嗣為配合都市建設與發展之需要,復於 57 年 7 月 1 日將近郊內湖、南港、木柵、景美、士林、北投等 6 鄉鎮劃入市域,面積擴大為 2 萬 7,214 公頃,人口增至 156 萬人。72 年 5 月公告大坑溪整治地區省市界調整,再增加市地 3 公頃,75 年 7 月省市行政界線調整,減少面積 40 公頃。復因臺北市市政建設突飛猛進,人口急遽增加,社會結構及客觀環境變遷甚大,而各區又限於地理條件之差異,其發展程度、建設情況及面積、人口等之差距日形懸殊,然各區行政區域仍沿省轄市時期舊制,未作合理調整,致無法發揮應有之功能,故於 79 年 3 月 12 日合併龍山區、雙園區、古亭區西側及城中區福星、慈壽、萬壽三里為萬華區,合併城中區及古亭區為中正區,合併景美區及木柵區為文山區,建成區、延平區併入大同區,將松山區南半分割設置信義區,全市調整為 12 區。81 年 8 月復因省市行政界線調整,增加面積 3 公頃。至 112 年底臺北市面積 2 萬 7,180 公頃,人口則為 251 萬人。

I. The History

The History of Taipei City

Taipei City and its suburbs rise from a typical basin of the fourth series new stratum. In ancient times, the area was a large lake; dry land emerged only after several million years of alluvial deposits. Geologically, the exact moment of the Basin's birth remains a mystery; in human history, however, it is known that the Chinese began massive immigration to Taiwan during the Ming Dynasty.

Taiwan's early years were tumultuous. In 1661, Zheng Chenggong expelled the Dutch and recovered the island. He set Huang An, his lieutenant and the commander of the navy and army, to guard Tamsui. When Zheng Keshuang, Zheng Chenggong's son, took charge of Taiwan, he instituted a system of stationing soldiers in farming areas: he sent forces to Three Forts at Zhilan, along the Tamsui River, to cultivate land. A stone tablet still extant from those days is proof of this particular period of history.

In 1683, forces from the mainland were sent to Taiwan and the number of immigrants, from the coastal region of Fukien, increased as well. In the fall of 1709, Chenlaizhang, a joint-stock body corporate, was officially granted a permit to settle Zhuluo County of Taiwan Fu. Following in the steps of the corporation, residents of the mainland counties Zhang and Quan crossed the strait with their families to settle in the area between Xinzhuang and Bangka (or Wanhua, as it is known today). These settlers built towns and cities, turning the area into a Shangri-La.

In 1737, settlement expanded to Quanshan (today's Wenshan), Xikou (today's Songshan), Upper Beitou, Lower Beitou, Tatayou, Xiaogangzai, and Dalangliu. As a river port, Bangka became the shipping center of the Taipei Basin and gradually developed into a prosperous town.

After 1853, Bangka's prosperity continued. Large ships continually plied the waterways and there was always bustling activity on land. Subsequently, some of the immigrants from Zhang County moved from Bangka to Dadaocheng, where they engaged in construction and conducted business. Before long, Dadaocheng had grown to replace Bangka as the international port of the Taipei region.

In 1875, the Qing Emperor set up Taipei Fu (or province) at Dajiana Port (today's Zhongzheng District). In 1882, the surrounding city walls were completed. In 1885, three major streets - Shi Fang (or Hengyang Road, today); Ximen (or the lower end of Hengyang Road, today); and Xinqi (or Boai Road, today) - were laid down. It was then that the inner city, Dadaocheng, and Bangka were linked together to form a single great city.

After the Sino-Japanese War of 1894, Japan occupied Taiwan and abolished Taipei Fu for Taipei Xian (or County), and later changed the area's name to Taipei Zhou. The region comprised 1,865 hectares, which incorporated Bangka, Dadaocheng, and Dajiana Port, and the population of the region was spread among 155 settlements. In May 1897, the Taipei Planning Commission was created to develop Taipei city; however, Taipei was not officially established as a county municipality until October 1920, at which time subsequent urban planning went into effect. In 1932, the range of the city was expanded by 6,698 hectares and the population encompassed rose from 150,000, as originally planned for, to 600,000.

Upon the Retrocession of Taiwan in August 1945, the provincial system was reinstated and Taipei officially became a provincial municipality. In October, the central government took over the city and divided the city along existing boundaries into ten administrative districts.

In December 1966, given that Taipei City had become the political, military, cultural, economic, and financial center of Taiwan, the central government decided that the city should become a special municipality; this upgrade in status went into effect on July 1, 1967. To meet the challenges of urban construction and development, six surrounding towns - Neihu, Nangang, Muzha, Jingmei, Shilin, and Beitou - were included within the city's new boundaries, which became official on July 1, 1968 and increased the area of the city by 27,214 hectares and the population by 1.56 million. In May 1983, because of improvement work along the Dakeng River, the central government ordered that the boundary of the special municipality be redrawn. As a result, Taipei City's territory was again expanded, this time by 3 hectares. In July 1986, the boundaries were adjusted once more, and Taipei city lost 40 hectares. Since that time, Taipei has undergone a series of changes: rapid urban development, significant increase in population, and transformation of social structure. The city's heterogeneous geography, differing levels of development, disparity in land area and population rendered the old administrative district system ineffectual. Through combining Longshan District, Shuangyuan District, westside of Guting District and Fuxing Li, Cishou Li and Wanshou Li in Chengzhong District as Wanhua District, combining Chengzhong District and Guting District as Jhongjheng District, combining Jingmei District and Muzha District as Wunshan District, Jiancheng District and Yangping District incorporated into Datong District, and southside of Songshan separated into Sinyi District, the entire city was re-divided into 12 new administrative districts on March 12, 1990. In August 1992, Taipei City's boundaries were redrawn yet again, and the city gained an additional 3 hectares of territory. The municipality of Taipei has an area of 27,180 hectares and a population of 2.51 million people at the end of 2023.